Roni Reports…

Dwyane Wades Ex Talks Life Without Her Two Sons

Siohvaughn-Wade-Dwyane-Wade-Talks-custody

Source: thegrio.com

Siohvaughn Funches-Wade, the ex–wife of NBA star Dwyane  Wade, speaks out (once again) about their custody battle and failed marriage.

The two met in the fifth grade and years later at 15, started dating. Dwyane even considered Siohvaughn’s home as his safe haven in his teens due to his rough home life with a drug-addicted mother and strict father. Then at 20, while Dwyane was playing college ball in Marquette, Wisconsin, Siohvaughn got the news that she was expecting their first child, Zaire, who’s now 10. His coaches wanted him to go for the draft, but Dwyane  picked his family. The next year he chose to go for his goals and ended up fifth in the NBA draft. Their lives would never be the same after that.

They went from being a young, broke married couple with a son in a tiny apartment in Wisconsin to living the high life of NBA royalty. Amongst the red carpets and huge salary, they added another son, Zion, to the mix in 2006. One would assume they were happy, but one would be wrong.

The two ended up divorcing in 2007, and Dwyane got sole custody of the boys in 2011. This left Siohvaughn heartbroken. And today, while the Miami Heat player is living large, she is struggling to pay her bills while attending law school in Chicago.

When the ruling came in that she wasn’t getting custody, she broke down. The judge ruled that she wasn’t to see them for 30 days so they could get settled into their new lifestyle.

“In the hours and weeks after, I cried and cried and I remember being scared when I’d see them again. Would they look different? Would their clothes still fit them? Would they still love me? I worried that they would think I wanted them to go away. There’s nothing anyone could have done for me to say, ‘Get me away from them.’ How devastating and traumatic for these two small boys,’ she said, sobbing. ‘Zion was a baby. To tell your baby that I’m going to see them in two days and that turns into two months. I can’t describe what it felt like to speak to them after 30 days. They were crying so hard they couldn’t even talk.”

Despite Dwyane saying Siohvaughn is a great mother in his book, Father First: How My Life Became Bigger Than Basketball, she still only sees the boys twice a month.

When they divorced she said it was more like a mourning because, “This person I had loved was literally dead. I felt the way a wife feels when her husband dies. That person was literally gone.”

She’s now single and working hard on her law degree with minimal spousal support from Dwyane . She also had nothing to say about his new girlfriend, actress Gabrielle Union, who is a decade his senior.

About sunnymenagerie

Socially awkward in most situations most 25 years olds would call easy, that’s me. TV is my soul mate, Music is my mistress and writing is my best friend. Without those three things, I’d be in an insane asylum calling myself Rosa Parks, refusing to sit in the back of the so called bus. I know more about pop culture and celebrities than I do about my family history, and I’d like to keep it that way. Words I live by: We´re all tiny books in one big compilation called life. Some of us will wait for what seems like forever for our climactic part to come. Others will have a romance novel their entire life. Or maybe one filled with just adventure. Or one that is a poetic tragedy. Then, there are those that will have best sellers. You know, the ones that everyone wants to read and base their versions on? Don´t forget the little paperbacks sold at the carwash that only a select few will ever lay eyes on. We´re all born with the power to either take what was written for us or choose our own adventures.

Leave a Reply

We'll email them to you!

Follow ronirep0rts on Twitter!!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.