Roni Reports…

Jessica Sanchez on Live! With Kelly, Plus Spanish Album and Pay Cuts?

Source: lasgringasblog.com

The internet and the rest of reality (TV) are still buzzing over Jessica Sanchez’s American Idol loss to Phillip Phillips. He’s the fifth white guy with a guitar in a row to take the title, and some are saying the show’s becoming predictable, but Jessica doesn’t see it that way. In true contestant fashion, she isn’t saying anything bad about her fellow Idol…even if she’s set to make way less than past runner ups.

Jessica doesn’t blame her final two partner’s good looks or guitar for her loss. She actually looked to the judges save as the reason. She spoke about it on Live! With Kelly: 

It was a good thing because I really took in the moment and was like ‘I’m here,’ they think I deserve to be here, but then I thought about it way too much and I tried too hard.

Whether or not we can aim Phillip Phillips win at the judges saving Jessica, or the fact that the show’s winner has fit a particular mold for five seasons can be left up to debate, but one thing that we can’t look past? The fact that as the runner up, Jessica’s pay day is looking grim compared to past second place Idols. In the past they’ve gotten a royalty advance of about $175k, Jessica will be paid a hefty (for the common man) $30k. But before we cry her a river, she’s looking at $50k for appearances.

The pay cut could be due to the fact that people aren’t buying music anymore. It could also be due to the popularity slump Idol had this season. While still a marketable place for Coca Cola, this year’s finale saw a 32% drop from last year.

One things for certain though, you don’t have to win the big one to make it. Look at Oscar winner and season three loser Jennifer Hudson, and multiplatinum fourth place Idol of season 4, Chris Daughtry. If Jessica is like many other Idol, well, losers…she’ll be the winner in the end. She has the Idol tour this summer and then is planning on paying homage to her heritage and doing a Spanish album, saying,

I think the language is beautiful and I have {sung in Spanish} in the past. I don’t know how to speak it, but definitely in the future, I would love to do that. I have a really good ear.

She might’ve lost Idol, but just being on the show gets you enough exposure to make what you can out of the situation.

Take a look at Jessica’s performance of ‘I Will Always Love You’ on Live! with Kelly below:

About sunnymenagerie

Socially awkward in most situations most 25 years olds would call easy, that’s me. TV is my soul mate, Music is my mistress and writing is my best friend. Without those three things, I’d be in an insane asylum calling myself Rosa Parks, refusing to sit in the back of the so called bus. I know more about pop culture and celebrities than I do about my family history, and I’d like to keep it that way. Words I live by: We´re all tiny books in one big compilation called life. Some of us will wait for what seems like forever for our climactic part to come. Others will have a romance novel their entire life. Or maybe one filled with just adventure. Or one that is a poetic tragedy. Then, there are those that will have best sellers. You know, the ones that everyone wants to read and base their versions on? Don´t forget the little paperbacks sold at the carwash that only a select few will ever lay eyes on. We´re all born with the power to either take what was written for us or choose our own adventures.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 29, 2012 by in Celebrity News, Kendra's Stories, TV and tagged , , , , .

We'll email them to you!

Follow ronirep0rts on Twitter!!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.