Roni Reports…

Obama Announces Support for Gay Marriage, Celebrities React via Twitter

Obama shocked the world today when he announced his support for same-sex marriage. In a preview to an upcoming interview on ABC’s ‘Good Morning America’, Obama says: 

I’ve been going through an evolution on this issue. I’ve always been adamant that gay and lesbian Americans should be treated fairly and equally. At a certain point, I just concluded that for me, personally, it is important for me to go ahead and affirm that I think that same-sex couples should be able to get married.

Obama is the first president in history to take this stance. Check out how celebrities responded on twitter! 

Ellen DeGeneres “Thank you President @BarackObama for your beautiful and brave words. I’m overwhelmed.”

Alec Baldwin “Obama gets it right on gay marriage. Bravo.” 

Tyra Banks “A fierce day for my gays and my prez @BarackObama – way 2 stand up 4 luv for ALL!”

Russell Simmons “Thank you Mr. President for your support of gay marriage.”

Ryan Seacrest retweeted an NBC News post that read, “In an interview with ABC News, President Obama said today: ‘I think same-sex couples should be able to get married.’”

Kim Kardashian blogged, “Wow… I just heard that President Obama has officially announced that he supports gay marriage!! This is such a huge step forward in our country’s fight for civil rights and I hope that today this will give hope to so many young people across the country.”

Ben Lyons: “This is why @barackobama makes me proud to be an American.@globalgrind http://t.co/shv4TUZh

Ricky Martin “I applaud President @barackobama for affirming that ALL Americans should enjoy equal rights. Historic! I will be a very proud host on Monday.

Ricki Lake Love is love!  Thank you Mr. President @BarackObama

It’s ironic that Obama made this announcement after four years….right when re-election is approaching….suspicious if you ask me. 

Watch the video below:

About ronireports

Freelance Writer. Entertainment Journalist. Aspiring Television Personality. Work experience at KTLA News, Fox News, Dr. Phil Show, Entertainment Tonight, and CNN. LA Resident. World Traveler.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 9, 2012 by in Celebrity News and tagged , .

We'll email them to you!

Follow ronirep0rts on Twitter!!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.