Roni Reports…

FX series “Archer” gets picked up for a 4th Season

If you haven’t seen the FX series “Archer,” you are missing one of the best animated shows on television today.  It is uproariously funny and extremely sharp-witted with a fresh take on the espionage/spy genre.  It may not be as big as “Southpark” or “The Simpsons,” but it’s only in it’s third season… so give it a break!

“Archer” follows the goings on at ISIS, an American secret spy agency.  The drama goes well beyond the international intrigue of most spy shows; it also throws in office politics and relationship humor.  The star of the show, Sterling Archer (brilliantly voiced by H. Jon Benjamin) is arguably the most talented super spy in the world and possibly the most vain man in the world.  His sarcastic wit and utter disregard for anyone other than himself are hilarious and, of course, lead him into some tricky situations.

Supporting this man-child are his fellow agent and ex-girlfriend Lana Kane (Aisha Tyler), accountant-turned-agent Cyril Figgis (Chris Parnell), his overly dramatic mother (Jessica Walter), and a handful of other strikingly original characters.  The writing in this show does two things perfectly:  hits you with rapid fire jokes to keep you laughing throughout the whole episode, and blends the office politics with the international intrigue flawlessly.

“Archer” just finished it’s 3rd season which was the most watched season yet with the season 3 finale (aired on March 22, 2012) being the most watched episode of the series EVER.  As TheFutonCritic.com puts it, “Archer has officially graduated from cult hit, to cable hit.”  It was even nominated for an Emmy in 2010 for H. Jon Benjamin’s outstanding voiceover work.

With its audience growing, it’s no surprise that FX has ordered a fresh batch of 13 episodes for a 4th season.  Check out this show and watch it from the beginning… it is worth it, even if it’s just for the spectacular one-liners.

My favorite “Archer” moment is the RAMPAGE he goes on during the breast cancer fiasco.  What’s yours?!

About Nolan

I guess I will start with the boring stuff: I am 23 years old and a graduate of the University of South Carolina. I got good grades and all that, but that’s not what really matters. What you want to know is what I do. Well, I do a little bit of everything. Those who know me have probably seen my short films, read my scripts and short stories, laughed at my not-so-serious poetry, read my movie reviews, bought my graphic novel or even heard my rap songs (you have to know me really well before you get to hear those). Of all these roles I play, my favorites are writer, director, and editor. I have acted but there’s a reason why I want to be behind the camera. I believe that a film can change someone’s life and that’s what I plan to do. Whether I get rich and famous or not, I want to entertain and move people emotionally through the medium of film.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 11, 2012 by in TV and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

We'll email them to you!

Follow ronirep0rts on Twitter!!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.