Roni Reports…

Dumb and Dumber 2: Will it ruin one of the ‘Greatest Movies of All time’?

I can’t make a list of the greatest movies of all time without including one of the most classic comedies of all time: “Dumb and Dumber.”  This film gets a bad rap at times, because it is touted simply as a stupid comedy… which it is, but it’s also so much more.  Some of the comedy is pretty subtle.  Example:  As Mental dies, he says “son of a b*tch,” and later Harry tells Lloyd, “he blamed me… you heard him.”  Maybe I’m just the only one who didn’t get that the first time I saw the film.

The film employs the simple premise of two idiots traveling across the country.  The beautiful thing about this, though, is that the idiots are lovable.  They mean well in everything they do, which makes them endearing, unlike some of the idiots in other films that we just scoff at.  We want Harry and Lloyd to succeed!

This film was followed by a bomb called “Dumb and Dumberer:  When Harry Met Lloyd.”  I never saw this film, but to say it was unsuccessful would be an understatement.  It even garnered some bridled outrage from fans of the original.  Much of this hate and lack of success was because it starred Derek Richardson and Eric Christain Olsen… have you ever heard of them?  I didn’t think so.  They were both especially anonymous before this ill-advised prequel, but have gone on to do a handful of other small roles.  The bigger problem with them as Harry and Lloyd, though, is that they are not Jim Carrey and Jeff Daniels who are a match made in comedy-heaven with impeccable timing and great chemistry.

Big news came this week, though, as the Farrelly Brothers announced “Dumb and Dumber 2”.  This sequel is in the very early stages of pre-production, but is supposed to catch up with Harry and Lloyd almost 18 years later (it’s been about 18 years since the original film).  More importantly, it is set to bring Carrey and Daniels back together.  This announcement has the internet buzzing with “Dumb and Dumber 2” trending on Yahoo!

I personally don’t think it is necessary to make a sequel, and I am afraid they are going to ruin it by turning it into a franchise. However, I will still see the film, simply due to my love for the first one.

What are your thoughts on the decision to make a sequel almost two decades later?

About Nolan

I guess I will start with the boring stuff: I am 23 years old and a graduate of the University of South Carolina. I got good grades and all that, but that’s not what really matters. What you want to know is what I do. Well, I do a little bit of everything. Those who know me have probably seen my short films, read my scripts and short stories, laughed at my not-so-serious poetry, read my movie reviews, bought my graphic novel or even heard my rap songs (you have to know me really well before you get to hear those). Of all these roles I play, my favorites are writer, director, and editor. I have acted but there’s a reason why I want to be behind the camera. I believe that a film can change someone’s life and that’s what I plan to do. Whether I get rich and famous or not, I want to entertain and move people emotionally through the medium of film.

One comment on “Dumb and Dumber 2: Will it ruin one of the ‘Greatest Movies of All time’?

  1. Ray Doolin
    April 6, 2012

    didn’t like this movie much first time I saw it…but then kept watching cause my son loved it and kinda got attached to it…

Leave a Reply

We'll email them to you!

Follow ronirep0rts on Twitter!!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.