Roni Reports…

New on DVD: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Six days ago, David Fincher’s remake of Niels Arden Oplev’s Swedish film “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo” was released on DVD.  This American remake came to be only 2 years after the original.  This is probably due to the huge popularity of the Steig Larsson novels, and the general American population’s aversion to being forced to read subtitles while watching a movie.

The American version is good…but not as good as its Swedish predecessor.  The story follows a journalist as he tries to solve a forty year old missing persons case.  Helping him is a tattooed, rude, crude, computer hacker/journalist that has dealt with a lot of horrific things in her life.

The reason the Swedish film is better is because it focuses more on Lisbeth Salander (the girl with the dragon tattoo… among other tattoos) whereas the American version focuses more on Mikael Blomkvist (the journalist).  Apart from the obvious reason as to why Lisbeth should be the focus (the title), her pinky finger is more of a compelling character than Mikael.  Nevertheless, the American version is still a good film.  It is shot beautifully and is incredibly well-acted.  David Fincher can certainly tell a story!

One of the more interesting things about this DVD release, though, is that the DVD looks like a bootleg copy!  It appears to be a Sony CD-R, with the title scribbled on the cover with a sharpie.  It is clearly alluding to the girl with the dragon tattoo being a computer hacker, but it also makes for an extremely interesting marketing ploy…

It’s not the first time a company has done this, though.  The 2006 film “Borat” had a similar looking DVD.  Whether this kind of marketing ploy will aid in sales, I’m not sure…but it definitely has made things more difficult for Redbox.  They have included a “Note to renters” saying that “the handwritten look on the disc of this movie is legitimate and is intended to look like a burned DVD.”

NOLAN’S NOTE TO RENTERS:  The brutal violence contained in this disc is legitimately disturbing and is not intended for the faint of heart.

About Nolan

I guess I will start with the boring stuff: I am 23 years old and a graduate of the University of South Carolina. I got good grades and all that, but that’s not what really matters. What you want to know is what I do. Well, I do a little bit of everything. Those who know me have probably seen my short films, read my scripts and short stories, laughed at my not-so-serious poetry, read my movie reviews, bought my graphic novel or even heard my rap songs (you have to know me really well before you get to hear those). Of all these roles I play, my favorites are writer, director, and editor. I have acted but there’s a reason why I want to be behind the camera. I believe that a film can change someone’s life and that’s what I plan to do. Whether I get rich and famous or not, I want to entertain and move people emotionally through the medium of film.

3 comments on “New on DVD: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

  1. Pingback: CBS Calling It Quits On Pilot Girl With The Dragon Tattoo Quean « The Gossip Council

  2. Ray Doolin
    April 6, 2012

    I really like when you kinda give your take on who should see the movies…have seen some of your other blogs elsewhere and you tend to be spot on…so if you could include more of that would love it:)

    • Nolan
      April 6, 2012

      Thanks for the tip. I certainly will do so!

Leave a Reply

We'll email them to you!

Follow ronirep0rts on Twitter!!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.